613today
Others

Fish and Chips in Ottawa

Compare six Ottawa fish and chips options by named fish, posted portions and prices, dine-in or takeout menus, and the service times that matter.

Fish and Chips in Ottawa

Fish and chips in Ottawa is not one standard plate. The fish, coating, number of pieces, sides and ordering channel differ, and a pub's closing time does not tell you when its kitchen stops serving the dish. This guide compares six existing Ottawa, Ontario listings using their posted menus and branch information.

Menus checked October 23, 2026. Amounts below are posted Canadian-dollar menu prices, not final bills or a cheapest-to-most-expensive ranking. Pelican's takeout menu and Heart & Crown's linked menu explicitly exclude tax; tax treatment was not confirmed for the other listings. Confirm current availability, portions, applicable taxes and any order-channel charges before ordering. A piece count without a weight does not establish equal-sized meals.

For oysters, raw bars and broader seafood dining, see the separate Ottawa seafood guide. This comparison focuses on the fish and chips dish rather than a restaurant's whole menu. Gatineau and Aylmer restaurants are outside this Ottawa list.

Compare the Posted Fish and Chips Menus

Place and branchNamed fishPosted menu amountPortion and service distinction
Pelican — 1500 Bank StAtlantic haddockLunch $21 / $28; dinner $29; takeout $20.99 / $27.99Lunch and takeout list one or two pieces; dinner does not state a count
Deacon Brodies — 247 Elgin StHaddock$17.99Two fillets; regular food menu starts later on weekends
Patty's — 1186 Bank StHaddockOne piece $19.49 / two pieces $23.49Ashton beer batter; no published fish weight
Heart & Crown Barrhaven — 3161 Strandherd DrHake$24; extra fish +$10Base piece count not stated; regular food menu 11am–10pm
The Whalesbone — 231 Elgin StAtlantic haddock$28Posted Thursday/Friday lunch dish; piece count not stated
Ad Mare — 1993 Robertson RdAsk the truckCurrent price not confirmedSeasonal truck; species, piece count and fish weight not confirmed

Pelican: Separate Lunch, Dinner and Takeout Choices

Pelican Seafood Market & Grill at 1500 Bank Street lists Atlantic haddock with a choice of beer batter or panko crust. The menus include fries, coleslaw and tartar sauce, but use different amounts for each service:

  • Lunch: One piece $21 or two pieces $28. The lunch page marks this menu as starting October 16, 2026.
  • Dinner: $29, with no piece count stated. Do not assume this is the same portion as a two-piece lunch.
  • Hot takeout: One piece $20.99 or two pieces $27.99, with tax extra. The official ordering menu lists both coatings.

Posted grill seating is 11:30am–4:30pm for lunch and 4:30pm–9:15pm for dinner, daily. Takeout is listed separately at 11:15am–7:45pm. Market opening hours are not the grill's service hours, and the seating periods do not establish a last kitchen-order time.

Sources: Lunch menu, dinner menu, hot takeout menu, official ordering menu, restaurant and service information.

Deacon Brodies: A Posted Two-Fillet Pub Plate

Deacon Brodies Pub at 247 Elgin Street lists Scottish Fish and Chips for $17.99: two beer-battered haddock fillets with French fries and tartar sauce. The menu does not give the fish's weight.

Its regular food menu starts 11am Monday–Friday and 2pm Saturday–Sunday. The pub opens earlier for weekend brunch, so a 9am opening is not a promise that this regular-menu dish is available then. The operator advertises takeout; confirm the day's kitchen cutoff and takeout arrangements directly.

Source: Official food menu, service periods and contact details.

Patty's: One or Two Pieces in Old Ottawa South

Patty's Pub at 1186 Bank Street lists Ashton beer-battered haddock, fresh-cut fries, tartar sauce and coleslaw. Its posted options are one piece for $19.49 or two pieces for $23.49. Neither option states the fish's weight.

The operator posts opening from 4pm Monday–Tuesday and noon Wednesday–Sunday, describing closing as “late.” A precise kitchen cutoff and an official fish-and-chips takeout menu were not confirmed. Use the named pub's menu and contact details rather than applying another Ashton Brewing Company location's hours or prices.

Sources: Patty's food menu, branch hours and contact.

Heart & Crown Barrhaven: Check the Hake Menu

Heart & Crown Barrhaven at 3161 Strandherd Drive links a menu listing fish and chips for $24, with wild Atlantic Irish hake, a golden batter, chips, tartar sauce and coleslaw. An extra piece is listed at +$10. The menu does not state the base piece count or fish weight, and applicable taxes are extra. This shared menu also says items may vary between pubs; confirm the current Barrhaven plate.

The branch posts its regular food menu from 11am to 10pm. Later bar and late-night-food hours do not establish that this dish remains available. The branch links an online delivery service, but its platform price and fish-and-chips availability were not verified. Use the restaurant menu amount above for its named channel; confirm an online order separately.

Sources: Barrhaven branch and food-service times, menu currently linked by that branch. Older menu copies describing haddock are not the basis for the hake listing here.

The Whalesbone Elgin: A Thursday or Friday Lunch

The Whalesbone at 231 Elgin Street lists beer-battered Atlantic haddock fish and chips for $28 on its Elgin lunch menu, with fries, coleslaw, lemon and tartar sauce. No piece count or fish weight is stated.

Lunch is posted for Thursday and Friday from 11:30am. Confirm the finishing time: the website says 3pm, while the branch's September 24, 2026 Instagram notice says 4pm. The separately posted dinner menu does not list this dish, so this guide does not treat it as a daily or dinner-menu option. Takeout for this Elgin dish was not confirmed from the operator.

Sources: Elgin lunch menu and linked menu image, official lunch announcement, separate Elgin dinner menu.

Ad Mare: A Seasonal Bells Corners Truck

Ad Mare Seafood Truck is at 1993 Robertson Road, behind East India Company. Its FAQ describes fish and chips with coleslaw, lemon, tartar sauce and kettle chips made from potato, sweet potato and beet. French fries can be requested instead of the kettle chips.

The truck operates spring through fall. Its homepage posts Tuesday–Sunday, 11:30am–7pm, and the October 23 official post confirms that day's fish and chips and schedule. Social-profile hours differ, and an October 20 notice says the season is nearing its end without giving a closing date. Check the latest operating notice before travelling; weather, season and sellouts can affect availability.

Current numeric price, fish species, piece count and weight were not confirmed. Ask about the day's plate rather than treating a haddock burger elsewhere on the website as proof of the fish used for this dish. For other mobile-food options, see the Ottawa food truck guide.

Sources: Official truck website, FAQ and plate contents, official X profile, October 23 operating post, October 20 season notice.

Before You Order

  • Choose the channel and meal. Pelican's lunch, dinner and hot takeout listings have different prices and portion information.
  • Ask about size when it matters. One piece, two fillets and an unspecified plate cannot be compared by price alone when fish weights are absent.
  • Read the named fish. The verified menus include haddock and hake; this guide does not substitute cod or halibut for an unlisted species.
  • Check food service, not bar closing. Deacon's weekend regular menu, Barrhaven's 10pm food window and Whalesbone's limited lunch days matter.
  • Confirm dietary requests directly. A choice of coating or a fish description does not establish allergen-safe preparation or a gluten-free meal.

Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ

Where can I get fish and chips in Ottawa?

This guide compares Pelican on Bank Street, Deacon Brodies on Elgin Street, Patty's in Old Ottawa South, Heart & Crown Barrhaven, The Whalesbone's Elgin lunch menu and seasonal Ad Mare in Bells Corners. Choose by the exact branch, meal service and ordering channel.

How much does fish and chips cost at these Ottawa restaurants?

Menus checked October 23, 2026 list Deacon Brodies' two haddock fillets at $17.99; Patty's one or two pieces at $19.49 or $23.49; Barrhaven Heart & Crown's hake plate at $24; and Whalesbone Elgin's lunch dish at $28. Pelican has separate lunch, dinner and takeout amounts. Ad Mare's current numeric price was not confirmed. These are posted CAD menu amounts, not equal-weight comparisons or final bills.

Which places list one-piece and two-piece fish and chips?

Patty's lists one piece for $19.49 or two for $23.49. Pelican lists one or two pieces at $21 or $28 for lunch and $20.99 or $27.99 for hot takeout, with tax extra on that takeout menu. Fish weights are not stated; Pelican's separate $29 dinner listing does not give a piece count.

Where can I order fish and chips for takeout?

Pelican publishes a dedicated hot takeout menu with one- and two-piece Atlantic haddock options and a separate takeout service window. Deacon Brodies advertises takeout; confirm the dish and pickup time directly. Ad Mare is a seasonal truck with on-site ordering. The guide does not assume that every listed dine-in price or dish is available through delivery.

When does The Whalesbone on Elgin serve fish and chips?

The posted Elgin lunch menu lists the dish for Thursday and Friday service starting at 11:30am. Its website says lunch ends at 3pm, while the branch's September 24, 2026 Instagram announcement says 4pm. Confirm the cutoff directly. The separately posted dinner menu does not list fish and chips.

Is Ad Mare open all year for fish and chips?

Ad Mare describes spring-through-fall seasonal operation at 1993 Robertson Road in Bells Corners. Its October 23, 2026 post confirms that day's service, but an October 20 notice says the season is nearing its end without stating a closing date. Check the latest official notice for your visit, current menu, price and availability.

🍴Featured Restaurants

More food guides

Information may change. If you spot anything outdated or incorrect, let us know.

Buy me a coffee