613today
Cafes

Hot Chocolate in Ottawa: Cafes and Chocolate Shops

Compare hot chocolate at four Ottawa cafes and chocolate shops, with official menu prices, exact addresses and a Stittsville option.

Hot Chocolate in Ottawa: Cafes and Chocolate Shops

A hot chocolate stop in Ottawa can mean a cup during a ByWard Market walk, a pastry break on Colonnade Road or a visit to a Stittsville chocolatier. These four businesses list hot chocolate on their own websites. Here is how their locations, published prices and menus compare.

Official menus and addresses were checked on October 22, 2026. Prices below are the operators' published web-menu listings in Canadian dollars. Cup sizes and ordering channels differ, so confirm the final price and any extras when ordering.

Where to get hot chocolate in Ottawa

StopAddressPublished hot chocolate price
Planet Coffee24a York Street, ByWard MarketSmall $3.50; medium $3.80; large $4.30
Simply Biscotti107 Colonnade Road, unit 5$4.49 / $4.79 / $4.99; ask about sizes
White Pine Chocolates1626 Stittsville Main Street, unit 1Drink listed; price not published on cafe page
Sweet Castle2446 Bank Street$3.85 on the operator's drinks page

Planet Coffee — a ByWard Market stop

Planet Coffee is at 24a York Street in Clarendon Lanes, between George and York streets. Its menu makes the hot chocolate comparison straightforward: $3.50 small, $3.80 medium and $4.30 large.

The same menu lists scones, cookies, squares and cake slices, so you can add a baked treat without turning the stop into a full meal. The operator publishes a 7 PM closing time every day, making this an afternoon or early-evening option rather than a late-night cafe.

Use the operator's menu when budgeting. An ordering platform may display a different price from the website, and the size names do not establish a standard volume across different cafes.

Sources: official drinks and baking menu, address and hours.

Simply Biscotti — hot chocolate with an Italian pastry

Simply Biscotti is at 107 Colonnade Road, unit 5. Its drinks menu lists hot chocolate at $4.49 / $4.79 / $4.99. The page does not label the corresponding cup sizes, so ask which one you are ordering rather than assuming they match Planet Coffee's sizes.

This is a useful choice when the pastry matters as much as the drink. The bakery's menu includes biscotti, Sicilian cannoli and cakes. Choose your pastry at the counter; the online page includes separate pastry sections and larger-order options, which should not be confused with a single serving.

Published hours are 7 AM–5:30 PM Monday–Friday and 9 AM–5 PM Saturday–Sunday. Plan it as a daytime stop.

Sources: official menu, operator's address and hours.

White Pine Chocolates — a Stittsville chocolatier and cafe

White Pine Chocolates' gallery and cafe is at 1626 Stittsville Main Street, unit 1. The operator explicitly lists hot chocolate alongside its coffee bar, bonbons, chocolate bars and other sweets.

The cafe page describes an open workshop where visitors can see chocolate production, plus a gallery wall featuring local artists. That gives this stop a different focus from a general coffee shop: you can combine the drink with browsing a chocolatier's collection.

No hot chocolate price is published on the cafe page. Ask the shop for the current price and available size. Its posted schedule lists Sunday as closed, so choose another day for this stop.

Sources: official cafe menu, address and hours, Ottawa Tourism's chocolatier guide.

Sweet Castle — hot chocolate with a pastry choice

Sweet Castle is at 2446 Bank Street. Its own drinks page lists hot chocolate at $3.85, alongside coffee and tea. The page does not specify the hot chocolate's cup volume.

The bakery also lists Mediterranean sweets and French pastries, including baklava, tarts and eclairs. It is a practical option when you want to pick a pastry alongside the drink rather than visit a dedicated chocolate shop.

Keep the ordering channel in mind: the $3.85 above is the operator's website listing, not a delivery total or a guarantee about taxes and additions. Confirm the current counter price before ordering.

Sources: official drinks menu, address and bakery information, French pastry menu.

Pick the stop that fits the outing

For a ByWard Market walk, Planet Coffee has clearly labelled small, medium and large prices. For a daytime pastry break, compare Simply Biscotti and Sweet Castle. For a chocolate-shop visit in Stittsville, choose White Pine and check its opening day first.

The published menus do not give enough detail to rank all four drinks by cocoa percentage, thickness or sweetness. If you want a particular chocolate style or milk option, ask about the drink's chocolate base as well as the milk.

For more places to pair with the outing, browse our Ottawa dessert guide and Ottawa cafes. Planning a later evening? Our cafes open after 9 PM guide compares the actual weekdays and branches.

FAQ

Where can I get hot chocolate in Ottawa?

Planet Coffee at 24a York Street, Simply Biscotti at 107 Colonnade Road unit 5, White Pine Chocolates at 1626 Stittsville Main Street unit 1, and Sweet Castle at 2446 Bank Street all list hot chocolate on their own websites. Menus and addresses were checked on October 22, 2026.

How much is hot chocolate at Planet Coffee?

Planet Coffee's official web menu lists small hot chocolate at $3.50, medium at $3.80 and large at $4.30. These are the website's listed Canadian-dollar prices checked on October 22, 2026. Confirm the final price and extras when ordering.

What does Simply Biscotti charge for hot chocolate?

Simply Biscotti's official drinks menu lists $4.49, $4.79 and $4.99 for hot chocolate. The page does not label the corresponding cup sizes, so ask the Colonnade Road shop which size each price covers.

Is White Pine Chocolates in Stittsville open on Sundays?

White Pine Chocolates' official cafe page lists Sunday as closed. The cafe is at 1626 Stittsville Main Street, unit 1. Check the operator's current schedule before making a special trip, particularly around holidays.

Are these hot chocolate prices directly comparable?

They are published web-menu listings rather than a comparison of equal cup volumes. Planet Coffee labels three sizes, Simply Biscotti lists three prices without size labels, Sweet Castle does not state a cup volume, and White Pine does not publish a hot chocolate price on its cafe page. Delivery prices and extras can differ.

More food guides

Information may change. If you spot anything outdated or incorrect, let us know.

Buy me a coffee